© K. Urtz 2013 Yacht / Country	 BLACK MAGIC	 Sail Number	 NZL-32 	 Syndicate :	  Team New Zealand Syndicate.	 CEO	                  Peter Blake	 Yacht Club:	  Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron	 Designer :	         Doug Peterson and Laurie Davidson	 Boat Builder :	 McMullen & Wing Yard, Auckland	 Skipper:	         Russell Coutts
“Black Magic” NZL - 32 winner of the America’s Cup 1995   With the yacht NZL 32 "Black Magic", headed by Sir Peter Blake and helmed by Russell Coutts the T
1995
With the yacht NZL 32 "Black Magic", headed by Sir Peter Blake and helmed by Russell Coutts the Team New Zealand won after 3 attempts in vain 1987 (Kiwi magic), 1988 ("big boat" KZ 1) and 1992 (NZL 20) the America's Cup 1995. The strength of Team New Zealand were not an exceptional yacht construction or special sailing designs etc. but a homogenous teamwork focused fully on the boat. Of course, with designers Doug Peterson and Laurie Davidson as well as the sail designer Tom Schnackenberg were experts at work.
But it was their maxime to observe the expertise of the crew at any time. Is typical for example that the sister yacht NZL-38 was estimated and used in all 4 Round Robins of the LVC as the newer and therefore faster yacht. But at the end it was decided at the request of the team before the Semifinals to sail the older NZL-32 until the end of the competitions.
AMERICA’S CUP HISTORY 1983 - 2013
Deutsch Home AC 1983 AC1987 AC 1988 AC 1992 AC 1995 Bibliography Impressum/Contact Opponents AC 2000 AC 2003 AC 2007 AC 2010 AC 2013 About Links

© K. Urtz 2013 Yacht / Country	 BLACK MAGIC	 Sail Number	 NZL-32 	 Syndicate :	  Team New Zealand Syndicate.	 CEO	                  Peter Blake	 Yacht Club:	  Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron	 Designer :	         Doug Peterson and Laurie Davidson	 Boat Builder :	 McMullen & Wing Yard, Auckland	 Skipper:	         Russell Coutts
Mit der Yacht  NZL 32 "Black Magic" unter der Leitung von Sir Peter Blake und gesteuert von Russel Coutts gewannen die Neuseeländer nach 3 zähen Versuchen 1987 (Kiwi Magic), 1988 (”Big Boat” KZ 1) und 1992 (NZL 20) den America's Cup 1995. Die Stärke von Team New Zealand waren nicht ein außergewöhnliches Yachtdesign oder spezielle Segelentwürfe etc. sondern ein homogenes Teamwork das sich voll auf das Boot konzentrierte.Natürlich waren mit den Designern Doug Peterson und Laurie Davidson sowie dem Segeldesigner Tom Schnackenberg Experten am Werk. Aber es wurde immer die Expertise der Mannschft eingeholt.
Bezeichnend ist z.B. daß die Schwesterjacht NZL-38 als das neuere und als schneller eingeschätztes Boot in allen 4 Round Robins des LVC eingesetzt wurde. Erst am unveiling day“ des 9. April 1994 entschied man sich, auch auf Wunsch der Mannschaft vor dem Semifinlae endgültig für die ältere NZL-32.
1995
“Black Magic” NZL-32 Gewinnerin des America’s Cup 1995
Mit der Yacht  NZL 32 "Black Magic" unter der Leitung von Sir Peter Blake und gesteuert von Russel Coutts
WELCOME
AMERICA’ S CUP HISTORY 1983 - 2013
English Home AC 1983 AC1987 AC 1988 AC 1992 AC 1995 Bibliogrphy Impressum/Contact Opponents AC 2010 AC 2013 AC 2000 AC 2003 AC 2007 About Links